We All Live in an Illusion

Unknown

 

Today in a class discussion I was presented with an argument that I found to be very enlightening. The professor said that essentially we all live in an illusion since we utilize things but fail to recognize the processes behind the product. We take photos but we don’t understand the mechanics of a photo, we buy clothes but don’t contemplate the labor that went into making the clothes etc. Since I am a product of my environment I found myself thinking and realizing that I take things at face value and never really stop to consider the deeper meanings behind the objects that I surround myself with. This statement really resonated with me and made me re-evaluate my thought processes concerning the consumption of these easily accessible things.

One thought on “We All Live in an Illusion

Leave a comment