@Tweetacoffee

I was scrolling through ABC news the other day and found this article about Twitter allowing their users to send anyone a coffee through Starbucks.  Apparently all you need to do is go to Starbucks website, register with them, and tweet away. You can tweet anyone you follow a $5 gift card and all they need to do is open it on their phone and take it to Starbucks to have it scanned. Bam, there’s your coffee. No cost for them. It’s an interesting idea, and to a fellow coffee addict, it’s very appealing however I wonder if people actually do it. I don’t have a Twitter so I can’t say, but I know Facebook does the same kind of thing with birthdays. If it’s one of your Facebook friends birthdays you can send them Starbucks and Target gift cards. When Facebook gives me this option I usually just overlook it and think “Why would I do that? I’d rather just buy them something.” This idea is new and modernized and I can’t say I’m surprised that it’s come to this. Though it just makes for lazy, antisocial people who would rather spend their time on the internet than just going out to coffee with their friends and buying it for them there in the flesh instead.

Me: Susie bought me coffee today!

Mom: I haven’t seen her in years! How is she?

Me: Oh.. I don’t know she just coffee tweeted me.

If the world ever comes to that kind of conversaton, I will be very sad.

Leave a comment